MINUTES OF THE AGBM OF THE FACULTY ASSOCIATION, IISc, BANGALORE, HELD ON 26^{TH} MARCH, 2010.

VENUE: CHOKSHI HALL.

TIME: 4:30PM.

Dr.G.S.Avadhani, Gen. Secretary, Faculty Association, welcomed the members and requested Pro.J.Nagaraju, President of the association to conduct the proceedings. The president welcomed the members for the meeting and requested the secretary to read the minutes of the previous GBM held on 24th Sept., 2009.

1. Confirmation of the minutes of the previous GBM:

Dr.G.S.Avadhani read the minutes of the last special GBM, which was held on 24th Sept.2009. It was proposed to be adopted by Dr.N.C.Shivaprakash and seconded by Prof.T.A.Abinandan. The minutes were adopted without any modification.

2. Annual Report:

The president requested the secretary to read the annual report. Dr.G.S.Avadhani read the report of the activities of Faculty Association during the year 2009-2010. He briefed the members about the gist of the number of meetings held by the EC members during the last year and gave an account of previous GBMs held. Finally, he thanked the office bearers and Dr. N.C.Shivaprakash for their co-operation and support during his term as the Gen. Secretary.

3. Presidents Remarks:

Prof.J.Nagaraju addressed the gathering and thanked the members for their co-operation during his term in the office as the President.

4. Elections for EC members:

The president requested Dr.N.C.Shivaprakash and Prof.T.A.Abinandan, the returning officers, to give report about the elections for the term 2010-2012. Since there were no nominations, Dr.N.C.Shivaprakash conducted the elections on the floor of the house for the new six members on the executive committee. The six newly elected members were:

- 1. Dr.J.Nagaraju(IN), 2. Dr.S.G.Ramachandra(CAF), 3. Dr.C.Shivakumara(SSCU),
- 4. Dr.B.Subbareddy(EE), 5. Mr.S.M.Saqquaf (SERC) and 6. Dr. Y.Phanindra (SERC)

The six continuing members were:

- 1. Mr.K.R.Shivakumar(CAF), 2. Prof.K.V.S.Hari(ECE), 3. Mr.Nagakrishna(CEDT),
- 4. Mr.D.S.Nadig(CCT), 5. Mr.K.N.Sathyamurthy(Phy), 6. Mr.G.S.Hegde(ECE)

And the six outgoing members were:

- 1. Prof.R.M.Vasu(IN), 2. rof.J.Nagaraju(IN), 3. Dr.G.S.Avadhani(Mater.Engg.),
- 4. Dr.K.J.Vinoy(ECE), 5. Prof.Shivshankar(MRC) and 6. Prof.Radhakant Padhi(AE).

The members congratulated the new EC members and thanked the outgoing members.

5. 6th CPC Implementation:

Dr.G.S.Avadhani brought to the notice of the members the discrepancy in the 6th CPC for the faculty of the Institute; particularly, to the cadre of Assoc.Prof./PRS. He showed it with some details of how it has been done and how it is unfavorable to them. Also, he gave a suggestion to rectify the discrepancy. It was unanimously accepted by the members and Dr.N.C.Shivaprakash requested the Secretary and the President to send a letter to the Director for an appropriate action at an early date.

6. Other Issues:

Some other issues were discussed in the meeting as detailed below.

- i) Allotment and maintenance of the quarters was raised by Mr.Ravishankar. The members felt that Mr.Ravishankar and Mr.Venkatraman may be nominated on the house allotment committee by the FA, so that they can help the cause better.
- ii) The centenary celebrations memento to faculties was raised by Mr.Rajanna. Prof.Nagaraju told that the FA had written to the Director about it saying that all the employees should be given the same memento. But no action has been taken so far.
- iii) The CHSS issue was raised by some member and it was felt that the enhancement in the coverage because of higher contribution has not been reflected. Also, the contribution is increased because of 6th CPC. But the enhancement in the basic coverage has not been increased.
- iv) Prof. Bhaktavatsala raised the issue of PRIS. The President told that he is unaware of any such thing in the Institute so far.

The meeting ended with thanking the Chair.

Dr. G.S.AvadhaniGen.Secretary,
Faculty Association,
IISc, Bangalore.